Hello, Old Friends

One thing I love about being a fiction writer is creating characters. It’s a lot of work, but it’s a lot of fun to figure out just where these characters I’m going to be living with for a while come from, what their stories are, and how they’re going to work with the other characters I’m going to shove them together with. Sometimes I do this on the fly. Oops, I need THIS character for this particular role. But for main characters, I spend more time with them, get to know who they are, really explore them.

What’s even more fun is the stage I’m in right now.

I’m starting to make notes on the sequel to a book I’m editing, one whose characters you haven’t fully had a chance to meet yet. Sure, I’ve talked about them over the years. Bridger and Tamryn have both even been on the couch over at The Character Therapist blog. (Which was quite helpful if you’re reading this, Jeannie!) But as I shift gears out of actively working with Darby and Mark for a short season (i.e. long enough to edit B&T’s first book and outline their second book), it’s exceedingly wonderful to work with these old friends again.

See, when I wrote their first book, I thought Bridger and Tamryn were a one-off. I left some loose threads, in case I did want to come back, but I didn’t really think I would. But they were such a joy to work with, it was always my hope to come back to them.

And two weeks ago when I finished writing Darby & Mark’s next book, I knew it was time to come back to Bridger & Tamryn. I’d been toying with some story ideas, and it felt like it was the right time.

What’s absolutely delightful about returning to these old friends is the fact I know them already. There are fewer holes I need to fill in. But I also get to figure out what they’ve been up to since I wrote “The End” on their story. That’s been so much fun. I think I’ve mostly wrapped that up for now, but it’s been interesting to see what they’ve gone through. It’s also interesting because I have to figure out just how much time has elapsed between the first and second book, and I’m not completely sure! (Mostly because I’m not 100% sure when the last book signed off–I need to calculate that while I’m editing.)

Anyway, you’ll get to meet Bridger and Tamryn in a few months with their debut book, “Launching Justice.” There’s suspense, space battles, explosions, robots, and space stations in it. Oh, and a love story. Can’t write a book without a romance. 😉

CEO Tamryn Caporelli’s best friend, Cora, has gone missing, and not even a technologically savvy inventor such as Tamryn can track her down. Enter P.I. Bridger Heidemann. He’s not the best out there, but he’s been recommended by someone Tamryn trusts. She engages his services to try and find Cora. He’s not sure he’s the best P.I. for the job, but he’s willing to do what he can since his bank account needs some padding. Neither of them expects to find themselves on an adventure of a lifetime when they board Tamryn’s personal spaceship and head for the resort near Jupiter where Cora was supposed to have gone.

They don’t count on falling in love, either.

I can’t wait to share this book with you. It’s been one whose topics I’ve been very passionate about for a while, and it’s been a long time in coming. I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I enjoyed writing it. Keep watching this space (and my newsletter!) for updates on the cover and release dates for this book. I’m hoping to have it and Darby’s next book out in the 2nd quarter of 2016.

One thought on “Hello, Old Friends

Please: share your thoughts!

